Resources on the Web: Hospitality and Tourism

 Association/Organizational Websites

American Hotel and Lodging Association 

American Society of Travel Agents

 

Club Manager’s Association of America

 

Council of Hotel and Restaurant Trainers

 

Cruise Lines International Association, Inc.

 

Food Service Consultants Society International

 

Food Service Educator’s Network

 

Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association International

 

National Restaurant Association

 

Society for Food Service Management

 

Travel Industry Association of America

 

United States Golf Association

 

World Tourism Organization 

 Commercial Websites

Center for Gaming Research –Univ. of Nevada

Gaming articles and info.

 

Cost Guard

Food service software and educational materials.

 

Food Quality

Current issue and newsletter available for food quality information and issues.

 

Hospitality Jobs Online

Career links and position information. Browse by position, location, company, or property.

 

Hospitality Net

A portal for hospitality industry information.

 

Meetings.net

Information on planning and professional resources.

 

Nations Restaurant News

An industry magazine offering articles ranging from “food trends and financial matters to consumer trends and the latest equipment innovations”.

 

Restaurants and Institutions Magazine

Articles, news, blog links, and educational resources.

 

Tourism Offices Worldwide Directory

Links to tourism offices around the country and worldwide.

 

Zagat’s

Restaurant and review search

 Government Websites

Bureau of Labor Statistics-

Occupational Outlook Handbook

 

Bureau of Transportation Statistics

 

CBP.gov –U.S. Homeland Security

 

Center for Disease Control

 

Food Safety.gov

 

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

 

U.S. Department of State –Travel

 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

 

U.S. National Food Safety

 

Hospitality –Going Green

 The following are links to Web resources that offer information on going green and eco-friendly practices in the hospitality industry:

 

American Hotel and Lodging Association –Green Resource Center

 

Environmental Leader

 

Green Meetings Industry Council

 

Green Meetings –U.S. EPA

 

U.S. Green Building Council –LEED

 

 

Have a comment or suggestion? Reply to this post! 

New Books in the Library: Fashion

Check out a few of the new Fashion books in the library:  

An intimate affair : women, lingerie, and sexuality / Jill Fields GT2073 .F54 2007

Career opportunities in the fashion industry / Peter Vogt TT507 .V63 2007

Cristóbal Balenciaga (1895-1972) : the couturiers’ couturier / Lesley Ellis Miller TT505.B28 M573 2007

Fashion Babylon / Imogen Edwards-Jones & Anonymous PS3605.D94 F37 2007 

Illustrating fashion / Kathryn McKelvey and Janine Munslow TT509 .M384 2007

Made for each other: fashion and the Academy Awards / Bronwyn Cosgrave PN1993.92 .C67 2007 

 

Visit the JWU Library to explore more of our collection!  

 

 

Looking for Criminal Justice Web Resources?

 

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS): http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/

Central Intelligence Agency (CIA): https://www.cia.gov/

Death Penalty Information Center (DPIC): http://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI): http://www.fbi.gov/

FedWorld: http://www.fedworld.gov/

FedStats: http://www.fedstats.gov/

Justice Research and Statistics Association (JRSA): http://ww.jrsa.org/sac/index.html

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data: http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/NACJD/

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics: http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/

For more sources go to the JWU Subject Sites: http://library.jwu.edu/research/websites/index.htm

 *Date Links Last Checked for Access: 3/21/08 

 

Culinary Vocabulary Resources

 Library Books:

The Food Lover’s Companion/S. Herbst TX349 .H532 2001 [reserves] 

The Chef’s Companion/E. Riely TX349 .R48 2003 

The Chef’s Companion/E. Riely TX349 .R48 1986 

Larousse Gastronomique TX349 .M613 1988

Larousse Gastronomique  TX349 .M613 1961 

The Food Encyclopedia/J. Rolland TX349 .R564 2006 [reserves]

Webster’s New World Dictionary of Culinary Arts TX349 .L33 2001

Random House Unabridged Dictionary PE1625 .R3 1993 [reference]

American Heritage Dictionary PE1628 .A6227 2002 [reference]

Larousse concise French-English, English French dictionary PC2640 .L317 2004

Four Language Culinary Dictionary: Hungarian, French, English, German TX350 .F68x 

Web Resources:

Culinary Café Culinary Dictionary
http://www.culinarycafe.com/Ingredient_Glossary.html

Food Dictionary
http://www.epicurious.com/cooking/how_to/food_dictionary/

Culinary Café Cooking Techniques
http://www.culinarycafe.com/Technique.html

French Cooking Definitions
http://www.goodcooking.com/france.asp

Wine Dictionary
http://www.epicurious.com/drinking/wine_dictionary/