CountryWatch Database Features Haiti

January 17, 2010

The CountryWatch database is featuring Haiti during the post-earthquake crisis that that nation is coping with. As the featured country, a report statement concerning this current event and links to newswire stories about Haiti are highlighted on the database homepage. Other factual information reports focus on the political conditions, national security, foreign relations, government structure, foreign investment climate, biographies of national leaders, history, economic overview, people and culture, human rights, and other topics specific to Haiti.

CountryWatch is a reliable provider of data on almost 200 nations. A weekly political intelligence briefing is written by CountryWatch’s editor, and is intended to inform users of important political events developing throughout the world.  These articles are arranged chronologically from the most recent to the least recent entries.


Investment Reports in Business & Company Resource Center

November 12, 2009

Did you know that you have access to investment reports through some of our business databases?  If you are researching a company or an industry, you may find these reports useful.

Business & Company Resource Center offers an easy way to find investment reports.  Follow these steps to access them…we’ll use Office Depot as an example of company we’re researching:

Start by clicking on the link to our databases:
http://library.jwu.edu/research/databases/az.htm#b

Choose Business & Company Resource Center

Enter the name of the company as a company search:

busco1

Click on the company (use the ticker symbol and/or the headquarter location to choose the correct one):

offdep

Click on the Investment Reports tab:

invest

Click on the titles of the investment reports that are the most current.  If you are researching an industry, repeat the process using the names of the top companies of that industry.  If you need help finding the top companies, use the Rankings tab when you are looking at the details for a particular company.

Happy researching!


Database Spotlight: First Research from Dun & Bradstreet

October 15, 2009
First Research from Dun & Bradstreet offers In-depth industry research for over 300 industries.  The research reports are updated quarterly, and are given in a relatively simple, consistent format.  Each industry profile is broken down consistently into the following chapters/sections:
Industry Overview
Recent Developments
Business Challenges
Trends & Opportunities
Executive Insight
Call Prep Questions
Financial Information
Industry Forecast & Rating
Web Links & Acronyms
You can search for industry reports by NAICS and SIC, or you can browse from the main page under the following broad sectors:
Construction & Real Estate
Finance & Insurance
Food & Agriculture
Healthcare
Manufacturing
Public Services, Education & Recreation
Retail
Services
Technology & Communications
Transportation, Energy & Storage
Wholesale
As far as reports related to JWU programs, the reports for the retail industry are broken down into over 40 subcategories.  There is a Hotel and Motel Lodging report listed under the main sector of Services; there’s also a Bed and Breakfast Inns report in this same sector.  Also under Services you’ll see Advertising & Marketing, Direct Marketing, Trade Show & Event Planning, Security System Services, and Travel Agencies & Services.  Under Food and Agriculture, you’ll find reports for Bakeries, Breweries, Catering Services, Restaurants, and Wineries.
The Financial Information section includes benchmarking figures and financial ratios (and includes their definitions) for each industry.
The section for Web Links & Acronyms in each report offers links to associations and Web sites related to each industry, as well as a brief glossary for acronyms used in the report.
One useful feature from First Research is Call Prep Sheets section of each report.  In this section, you’ll find “conversation starters” that are relevant to the industry.  The conversation starters are designed to be used for sales calls, but they could be useful when preparing for job interview.
Another nice feature is the States & Provinces section.  It features a clickable map that lets you find monthly updates of industry, economic, employment, and real estate data & trends for each of the 50 states in the U.S.
To access First Research, go to the Databases section of our site, and scroll down to “F” in the alphabetical listings:

First Research from Dun & Bradstreet offers In-depth industry research for over 300 industries.  The research reports are updated quarterly, and are given in a relatively simple, consistent format.  Each industry profile is broken down consistently into the following chapters/sections:

Industry Overview
Recent Developments
Business Challenges
Trends & Opportunities
Executive Insight
Call Prep Questions
Financial Information
Industry Forecast & Rating
Web Links & Acronyms

You can search for industry reports by NAICS and SIC, or you can browse from the main page under the following broad sectors:

Construction & Real Estate
Finance & Insurance
Food & Agriculture
Healthcare
Manufacturing
Public Services, Education & Recreation
Retail
Services
Technology & Communications
Transportation, Energy & Storage
Wholesale

As far as reports related to JWU programs, the reports for the retail industry are broken down into over 40 subcategories.  There is a Hotel and Motel Lodging report listed under the main sector of Services; there’s also a Bed and Breakfast Inns report in this same sector.  Also under Services you’ll see Advertising & Marketing, Direct Marketing, Trade Show & Event Planning, Security System Services, and Travel Agencies & Services.  Under Food and Agriculture, you’ll find reports for Bakeries, Breweries, Catering Services, Restaurants, and Wineries.

The Financial Information section includes benchmarking figures and financial ratios (and includes their definitions) for each industry.

The section for Web Links & Acronyms in each report offers links to associations and Web sites related to each industry, as well as a brief glossary for acronyms used in the report.

One useful feature from First Research is the Call Prep Sheets section of each report.  In this section, you’ll find “conversation starters” that are relevant to the industry.  The conversation starters are designed to be used for sales calls, but they could be useful when preparing for a job interview.

Another nice feature is the States & Provinces section.  It features a clickable map that lets you find monthly updates of industry, economic, employment, and real estate data & trends for each of the 50 states in the U.S.

To access First Research, go to the Databases section of our site, and scroll down to “F” in the alphabetical listings:

http://library.jwu.edu/research/databases/az.htm


MarketResearch.com Academic (new resource)

September 21, 2009

MarketResearch.com Academic offers in-depth reports for numerous industries.  In general, the reports contain info on demographics, market size, market trends, growth & shares, forecasts, analysis of major brands, new product introduction trends, industry forces, company profiles, and consumer trends & buyer behavior.

The reports in MarketResearch.com Academic are written by the following publishers:
Kalorama Information
Packaged Facts
SBI
Simba Information
Icon Group International, Inc.
Paul Budde Communication Pty Ltd

The content includes current and historical information on markets and industries, ranging from Consumer Goods to Life Sciences & Technology.  Some reports that cover industries related to JWU’s programs include the following:
Food & Beverage
Food Service & Hospitality
Retailing
Travel & Leisure
Technology & Media

You can browse through 40 categories of reports, or you can search by using keywords that are related to your industry.

The advanced search lets you search by keywords in the title of the reports, or you can search for keywords within the full text of the report.  The results are displayed with the name of the report, a brief summary, and the year of publication. 

Warning: there are some reports in this resource that were published over 10 years ago.  For your projects, be sure to use the reports that are the most current.

Note1:  If your browser is set up with a pop-up blocker, you may want to disable it before using this resource.  Another workaround for the pop-up blocker issue is to follow the dialog boxes (“If the report does not automatically open after a few moments, please click here.”) to open your report in a new window.

Note2:  Don’t be intimidated by the cost listed for each report; the reports are free for JWU faculty, students and staff through our MarketResearch.com subscription.

MarketResearch.com Academic can be found alphabetically with the other JWU market research resources by going to:
http://library.jwu.edu/research/databases/research.htm

If you have any questions, pleases don’t hesitate to call or IM us.

Happy searching!


Can’t log into the databases off campus???

May 11, 2009

If you are having trouble logging into the databases when you are off campus, it may be that the system does not recognize your barcode number. It is possible that your student ID information has not been added to the user database. If you are experiencing this type of error when logging in, check with the Library (305-892-7043) to be sure that your student ID can access the system off campus. Or, stop by the Reference Desk the next time you visit the Library, and we will be sure you have access.


Emerging Opportunities for “Green” Wine

April 20, 2009

“Going green” is becoming an increasingly hot topic in the wine industry. It appears that it also becoming more profitable for wine retail and this will certainly affect restauranteurs and consumers alike. According to a recent article in Cheers, retail opportunities for wine produced with sustainable practices is on the rise. Sarah Baisley, contributing editor of Cheers and the wine steward at Malibu Pavilions, states that “the public is beginning to believe that “healthier” can also taste good–the term “quality” is starting to be applied to wines produced by green methods.” This article provides evidence that there is increased market growth for these products. Read the article yourself! Follow the steps below to access the journal through the Culinary Arts Collection database:

  1. Go to http://library.jwu.edu
  2. Choose Databases
  3. Scroll down to Culinary Arts Collection
  4. Choose On Campus or Off Campus (enter name and barcode)
  5. Type the keywords: green wine into the search box
  6. Click on the article title: Green movement sprouts opportunity for wine & spirits.(Guide to Green Wines).

Read the rest of this entry »


Book Highlight: Greentailing and Other Revolutions in Retail

February 27, 2009

The library has just purchased a new book title: Greentailing and Other Revolutions in Retail. This book examines green trends in the retailing business. “Greentailing” focuses on the growing demand for sustainable, organic, and environmentally conscious products and business practices. For anyone in or planning on going into the retail business, this book is definitely worth checking out!

Greentailing and other revolutions in retail / Neil Z. Stern, Willard N. Ander HF5429 .S734 2008

To find articles on “green” retailing, you can search the database, GreenFiles, on the JWU Library website at: http://library.jwu.edu > Databases >> Scroll to GreenFiles