Pathfinder of the Week: Beverage Service Management

December 5, 2008

 Looking for books? Articles? Maybe a few websites resources for your next paper or project? The JWU North Miami Library can help! Phone us, email, Instant Message, or come in and meet with a librarian for assistance anytime!

This week’s highlighted pathfinder is focused on the topic: Beverage Service Management.

 

Books:

At your service: a hands-on guide to the professional dining room / The Culinary Institute of America; John W. Fischer

TX925 .F573 2005 

 

Bar & beverage operation : ensuring success & maximum profit / by Chris Parry TX950.7 .P37 2003

 

Contemporary restaurants and bars / Martin M. Pegler NK2195.R4 P445 2004 

 

Food and beverage cost control / Lea R. Dopson, David K. Hayes, Jack E. Miller TX911.3.C65 M55 2008

 

Food and beverage cost control, third edition, student workbook / National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation

TX911.3.C65 M55 2005 Supp    

 

Principles of food, beverage, and labor cost controls / Paul R. Dittmer, J. Desmond Keefe III TX911.3.C65 D57 2006 

 

The hospitality manager’s guide to wines, beers, and spirits / Albert W.A. Schmid TX950.7 .S36 2008 [Reserves]

 

The professional bar & beverage manager’s handbook: how to open and operate a financially successful bar, tavern, and nightclub / Amanda Miron & Douglas Robert Brown TX950.7 .M57 2006

Periodicals:

All About Beer [print], American Brewer [print], Beverage Industry [print, electronic], Beverage World [print, electronic], Club Management [print], Decanter [print], Foodservice & Hospitality [print, electronic], Journal of Foodservice Business Research [print, electronic], Night Club & Bar Magazine [print], Southern Beverage Journal [print], Tea [print], Wine Enthusiast [print], Wine Spectator [print], Wine & Spirits [print], Wines & Vines [print, electronic]

 

Videos and DVDs:

Beverage & food service [videorecording] / The Culinary Institute of America TX925 .B48 1998

 

Food and beverage suggestive selling [videorecording] / Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Motel Association 

TX925 .F66 1994

 

Introduction to food & beverage [videorecording] TX943 .I58 2006

 

Managing service in food & beverage operations [videorecording] : or, Food & beverage service / Educational Institute, American Hotel & Motel Association TX911.3.M27 M36 1998

 

Mixology [videorecording] : making great cocktails / Food & Beverage Institute, Culinary Institute of America ; producer, Philip E. Miller TX951 .M59 2001

 

Wine service [videorecording] / The Culinary Institute of America ; a Culinary Learning Resources production ; producer/writer, Philip Miller TX925 .W56 1991

 

Web Resources:

Hospitality Net: http://www.hospitalitynet.org/home.htm

 

Just Drinks: http://www.just-drinks.com/ (requires free registration)

 

The Beverage Information Group: http://www.beveragenet.net/ME2/Default.asp

 

The Beverage Network: http://www.bevnet.com/

 

**Please go to the library catalog to view the entire collection at: http://library.jwu.edu/florida/index.htm

 

 

 

 

 


New Books in the Library: Fashion

June 12, 2008

Check out a few of the new Fashion books in the library:  

An intimate affair : women, lingerie, and sexuality / Jill Fields GT2073 .F54 2007

Career opportunities in the fashion industry / Peter Vogt TT507 .V63 2007

Cristóbal Balenciaga (1895-1972) : the couturiers’ couturier / Lesley Ellis Miller TT505.B28 M573 2007

Fashion Babylon / Imogen Edwards-Jones & Anonymous PS3605.D94 F37 2007 

Illustrating fashion / Kathryn McKelvey and Janine Munslow TT509 .M384 2007

Made for each other: fashion and the Academy Awards / Bronwyn Cosgrave PN1993.92 .C67 2007 

 

Visit the JWU Library to explore more of our collection!  

 

 


Looking for Criminal Justice Web Resources?

June 12, 2008

 

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS): http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/

Central Intelligence Agency (CIA): https://www.cia.gov/

Death Penalty Information Center (DPIC): http://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI): http://www.fbi.gov/

FedWorld: http://www.fedworld.gov/

FedStats: http://www.fedstats.gov/

Justice Research and Statistics Association (JRSA): http://ww.jrsa.org/sac/index.html

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data: http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/NACJD/

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics: http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/

For more sources go to the JWU Subject Sites: http://library.jwu.edu/research/websites/index.htm

 *Date Links Last Checked for Access: 3/21/08 

 


Culinary Vocabulary Resources

June 12, 2008

 Library Books:

The Food Lover’s Companion/S. Herbst TX349 .H532 2001 [reserves] 

The Chef’s Companion/E. Riely TX349 .R48 2003 

The Chef’s Companion/E. Riely TX349 .R48 1986 

Larousse Gastronomique TX349 .M613 1988

Larousse Gastronomique  TX349 .M613 1961 

The Food Encyclopedia/J. Rolland TX349 .R564 2006 [reserves]

Webster’s New World Dictionary of Culinary Arts TX349 .L33 2001

Random House Unabridged Dictionary PE1625 .R3 1993 [reference]

American Heritage Dictionary PE1628 .A6227 2002 [reference]

Larousse concise French-English, English French dictionary PC2640 .L317 2004

Four Language Culinary Dictionary: Hungarian, French, English, German TX350 .F68x 

Web Resources:

Culinary Café Culinary Dictionary
http://www.culinarycafe.com/Ingredient_Glossary.html

Food Dictionary
http://www.epicurious.com/cooking/how_to/food_dictionary/

Culinary Café Cooking Techniques
http://www.culinarycafe.com/Technique.html

French Cooking Definitions
http://www.goodcooking.com/france.asp

Wine Dictionary
http://www.epicurious.com/drinking/wine_dictionary/