What is a LibGuide??

September 30, 2009

The JWU North Miami Campus Library has been working hard to provide our students and faculty with Web-based and easy-to-access research guides. LibGuides is a content sharing system that acts as a gateway to specific research resources. These guides incorporate 2.0 tools such as streaming video, RSS feeds, and interactive polls…all geared towards your topic!

There are also LibGuides for specific courses with project and assignment resources just one click away!

Check it out:

Click this link: JWU North Miami LibGuides

-or- URL: http://jwuflorida.libguides.com/


Resources on the Web: Hospitality and Tourism

January 13, 2009

 Association/Organizational Websites

 Commercial Websites

Center for Gaming Research –Univ. of Nevada

Gaming articles and info.

 

Cost Guard

Food service software and educational materials.

 

Food Quality

Current issue and newsletter available for food quality information and issues.

 

Hospitality Jobs Online

Career links and position information. Browse by position, location, company, or property.

 

Hospitality Net

A portal for hospitality industry information.

 

Meetings.net

Information on planning and professional resources.

 

Nations Restaurant News

An industry magazine offering articles ranging from “food trends and financial matters to consumer trends and the latest equipment innovations”.

 

Restaurants and Institutions Magazine

Articles, news, blog links, and educational resources.

 

Tourism Offices Worldwide Directory

Links to tourism offices around the country and worldwide.

 

Zagat’s

Restaurant and review search

 Government Websites

Bureau of Labor Statistics-

Hospitality –Going Green

 The following are links to Web resources that offer information on going green and eco-friendly practices in the hospitality industry:

 

American Hotel and Lodging Association –Green Resource Center

 

Environmental Leader

 

Green Meetings Industry Council

 

Green Meetings –U.S. EPA

 

U.S. Green Building Council –LEED

 

 

Have a comment or suggestion? Reply to this post! 


Pathfinder of the Week: Beverage Service Management

December 5, 2008

 Looking for books? Articles? Maybe a few websites resources for your next paper or project? The JWU North Miami Library can help! Phone us, email, Instant Message, or come in and meet with a librarian for assistance anytime!

This week’s highlighted pathfinder is focused on the topic: Beverage Service Management.

 

Books:

At your service: a hands-on guide to the professional dining room / The Culinary Institute of America; John W. Fischer

TX925 .F573 2005 

 

Bar & beverage operation : ensuring success & maximum profit / by Chris Parry TX950.7 .P37 2003

 

Contemporary restaurants and bars / Martin M. Pegler NK2195.R4 P445 2004 

 

Food and beverage cost control / Lea R. Dopson, David K. Hayes, Jack E. Miller TX911.3.C65 M55 2008

 

Food and beverage cost control, third edition, student workbook / National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation

TX911.3.C65 M55 2005 Supp    

 

Principles of food, beverage, and labor cost controls / Paul R. Dittmer, J. Desmond Keefe III TX911.3.C65 D57 2006 

 

The hospitality manager’s guide to wines, beers, and spirits / Albert W.A. Schmid TX950.7 .S36 2008 [Reserves]

 

The professional bar & beverage manager’s handbook: how to open and operate a financially successful bar, tavern, and nightclub / Amanda Miron & Douglas Robert Brown TX950.7 .M57 2006

Periodicals:

All About Beer [print], American Brewer [print], Beverage Industry [print, electronic], Beverage World [print, electronic], Club Management [print], Decanter [print], Foodservice & Hospitality [print, electronic], Journal of Foodservice Business Research [print, electronic], Night Club & Bar Magazine [print], Southern Beverage Journal [print], Tea [print], Wine Enthusiast [print], Wine Spectator [print], Wine & Spirits [print], Wines & Vines [print, electronic]

 

Videos and DVDs:

Beverage & food service [videorecording] / The Culinary Institute of America TX925 .B48 1998

 

Food and beverage suggestive selling [videorecording] / Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Motel Association 

TX925 .F66 1994

 

Introduction to food & beverage [videorecording] TX943 .I58 2006

 

Managing service in food & beverage operations [videorecording] : or, Food & beverage service / Educational Institute, American Hotel & Motel Association TX911.3.M27 M36 1998

 

Mixology [videorecording] : making great cocktails / Food & Beverage Institute, Culinary Institute of America ; producer, Philip E. Miller TX951 .M59 2001

 

Wine service [videorecording] / The Culinary Institute of America ; a Culinary Learning Resources production ; producer/writer, Philip Miller TX925 .W56 1991

 

Web Resources:

Hospitality Net: http://www.hospitalitynet.org/home.htm

 

Just Drinks: http://www.just-drinks.com/ (requires free registration)

 

The Beverage Information Group: http://www.beveragenet.net/ME2/Default.asp

 

The Beverage Network: http://www.bevnet.com/

 

**Please go to the library catalog to view the entire collection at: http://library.jwu.edu/florida/index.htm

 

 

 

 

 


Journal Locator

November 10, 2008

When you have an assignment that requires using a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper, use the Journal Locator feature on the Library’s homepage to find what you need.  The link to the Journal Locator is listed under Research Resources.  Once the Locator page is accessed, you can search by title or a subject category.  The results list will indicate if the resource is available in electronic or print/paper format.   The results will also state the date range that is accessible. 

Stop by the desk for help with fine-tuning your search or to find out where paper/print resources are located in the Library.


Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

October 23, 2008

The JWU North Miami Library has newly subscribed to the Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection database. If you haven’t already, come and search the 500+ industry journals available in this database for current information in the field of hospitality.

You can access this database on campus or off! To log in remotely all you need is the barcode from your JWU ID.

To view the holdings of the database follow these steps:

  • Go to http://library.jwu.edu
  • Choose Databases
  • Scroll down to the database links for Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection

Its that simple! For more help come into the library, phone, email, or IM us from the Meebo widget on this blog page!

Contact the Library


JWU Subject Sites

October 23, 2008

 The Johnson & Wales library has a web page which offers links to internet resources by subject. This can be extremely useful for finding valid information on the Web that has been vetted by a JWU librarian. You can browse by subject and then follow the link to a variety of internet resources that may be useful during your research process.

 

The direct address to the JWU Subject Sites page is:

http://library.jwu.edu/research/websites/index.htm

 

Or you can find it by going to the main library webpage at:

http://library.jwu.edu

>Then go to Research Resources and then click on Subject Sites.

 

For example, suppose you are looking for culinary resources. You can click on the link to Culinary & Food-related websites. Here you will find links to pages which cover a wide variety of cookery, cuisine, food industry and nutrition subjects: Baking, beverages (alcoholic/non-alcoholic), career information, cookbook reviews, cookery, ethnic/regional cuisine, food industry, food safety, menus, newsgroups, nutrition, professional associations, recipe archives/indexes, restaurants, specific foods, and tables (conversion/measurements).

 

Or perhaps, you are looking for information on International Business Etiquette. This page offers a variety of topics dealing the cultural aspects of conducting international business and general advice about etiquette expectations abroad.

 

Check it out! You won’t be sorry!

 

**Of course, don’t forget to always keep a critical eye on web-based information if you follow links from a web page as it may lead you outside of that website! You want to be sure to evaluate any website source you use by adhering to some basic guidelines:

  • Check out the author. What type of credentials do they have?
  • Is there a bibliography?
  • Does the funding source or site of the research imply a bias?
  • Who is the intended audience?

New Books in the Library: Fashion

June 12, 2008

Check out a few of the new Fashion books in the library:  

An intimate affair : women, lingerie, and sexuality / Jill Fields GT2073 .F54 2007

Career opportunities in the fashion industry / Peter Vogt TT507 .V63 2007

Cristóbal Balenciaga (1895-1972) : the couturiers’ couturier / Lesley Ellis Miller TT505.B28 M573 2007

Fashion Babylon / Imogen Edwards-Jones & Anonymous PS3605.D94 F37 2007 

Illustrating fashion / Kathryn McKelvey and Janine Munslow TT509 .M384 2007

Made for each other: fashion and the Academy Awards / Bronwyn Cosgrave PN1993.92 .C67 2007 

 

Visit the JWU Library to explore more of our collection!  

 

 


Looking for Criminal Justice Web Resources?

June 12, 2008

 

Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS): http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/

Central Intelligence Agency (CIA): https://www.cia.gov/

Death Penalty Information Center (DPIC): http://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/

Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI): http://www.fbi.gov/

FedWorld: http://www.fedworld.gov/

FedStats: http://www.fedstats.gov/

Justice Research and Statistics Association (JRSA): http://ww.jrsa.org/sac/index.html

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data: http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/NACJD/

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics: http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook/

For more sources go to the JWU Subject Sites: http://library.jwu.edu/research/websites/index.htm

 *Date Links Last Checked for Access: 3/21/08 

 


Culinary Vocabulary Resources

June 12, 2008

 Library Books:

The Food Lover’s Companion/S. Herbst TX349 .H532 2001 [reserves] 

The Chef’s Companion/E. Riely TX349 .R48 2003 

The Chef’s Companion/E. Riely TX349 .R48 1986 

Larousse Gastronomique TX349 .M613 1988

Larousse Gastronomique  TX349 .M613 1961 

The Food Encyclopedia/J. Rolland TX349 .R564 2006 [reserves]

Webster’s New World Dictionary of Culinary Arts TX349 .L33 2001

Random House Unabridged Dictionary PE1625 .R3 1993 [reference]

American Heritage Dictionary PE1628 .A6227 2002 [reference]

Larousse concise French-English, English French dictionary PC2640 .L317 2004

Four Language Culinary Dictionary: Hungarian, French, English, German TX350 .F68x 

Web Resources:

Culinary Café Culinary Dictionary
http://www.culinarycafe.com/Ingredient_Glossary.html

Food Dictionary
http://www.epicurious.com/cooking/how_to/food_dictionary/

Culinary Café Cooking Techniques
http://www.culinarycafe.com/Technique.html

French Cooking Definitions
http://www.goodcooking.com/france.asp

Wine Dictionary
http://www.epicurious.com/drinking/wine_dictionary/