November 30, 2009
Business Source Complete has recently added videos from the HBS executive education programs.
To see the HBS videos (if you’re connected to the JWU network on campus), click on the following link (and then click on the button for “Videos”):
HBS Videos in Business Source Complete (All Campuses)
on campus
You can sort the videos by date or by title.
Another way to access the videos is to click on “Business Videos” when you are looking at Business Source Complete main search page:
Business Source Complete (All Campuses)
on campus | off campus
…then type “harvard” to see all the videos, or enter a keyword to search for videos on a particular topic.
Happy viewing!
Leave a Comment » |
Business, General Library Information, databases | Tagged: Business videos, Online videos |
Permalink
Posted by Dean Vellenga, Librarian
October 23, 2009
Do you have a presentation due for a business class project (or any other project, for that matter)? Are you having a tough time designing a PowerPoint presentation that looks professional? Are you struggling to find a way to add pizzazz to your topic?
There’s help available in Academic Search Premier, a database that has hundreds of articles on presentations. There are articles with advice on choosing the best colors and font sizes, finding professional-quality stock images, using the 90-second rule, appropriate use of video, etc.
One quick way to find these articles is to do a subject search for business presentations. Use the link for Academic Search Premier (below) and enter business presentations as a subject (see the screenshot below…you can limit to full text articles by putting a check in that box):
Academic Search Premier (All Campuses)
on campus | off campus

By the way, if you’d like to see articles about speaking in public, use public speaking as a subject search.
Good luck!
Leave a Comment » |
General Library Information, databases | Tagged: powerpoint, presentations, public_speaking |
Permalink
Posted by Dean Vellenga, Librarian
October 13, 2009
The library has purchased access to a fabulous new database: Global Road Warrior. Focused on countries and their cultures, this database is an excellent tool for looking up points of interest, travel essentials, business culture for women, and demographics. There are also maps and images!
Global Road Warrior (Charlotte, No. Miami, Providence Campuses)
on campus | off campus
Leave a Comment » |
Hospitality, databases | Tagged: Business, country information, demographics, Hospitality, maps |
Permalink
Posted by Mia Lamm, Librarian
September 24, 2009
The American History Cookbook by Mark Zanger covers a wide range of American history cookery from the pre-colonial to school lunches. Many of the recipes were selected from historical cookbooks with the intention to illuminate techniques used by the people of the time, and thus history. The book is arranged chronologically by time periods (50 Chapters in total) and each chapter opens with a brief historical background then gives a typical recipe of that period. The recipes include detailed instructions on how to prepare the dish authentically with instructions for substitutes for hard to find ingredients and difficult techniques.

The American History Cookbook is available as an eBook through Greenwood Digital Collection database. To access this resource go to the library homepage, select databases, then scroll down to Greenwood Digital Collection and choose your location (either on or off campus). Once you are in the database, click on “American History” subject heading to expand your options, then expand “American History (General)” and you’ll see The American History Cookbook.
Leave a Comment » |
Book Reviews, Culinary, databases | Tagged: eBooks |
Permalink
Posted by Chris Cannella, Library Assistant
May 14, 2009
Looking for a job? Did you know that you can use the library databases to find articles that offer guidance in your job search?
Here are three recent articles that can be accessed though the Business Source Complete database:
Title: How to Land a Job in an Economic Downturn
Author: Thompson, Kimberly
Source: Phi Kappa Phi Forum; Spring2009, Vol. 89 Issue 1, p26-27, 2p
Title: Writing a Recession-Proof Resume
Author: Hosking, Rob
Source: Office Pro; Apr2009, Vol. 69 Issue 3, p5-5
Title: The Interview That’ll Bag a Job
Author: Needleman, Sarah, E.
Source: Wall Street Journal – Eastern Edition; 4/14/2009, Vol. 253 Issue 86, pD4
You can find these in Business Source Complete by searching the title and author from each article, or you can find them by using these related job hunting subjects:
EMPLOYMENT interviewing
ENTRY-level employment
JOB hunting
RESUMES (Employment)
To access the Business Source Complete database, go to the library’s website:
http://library.jwu.edu/
…then click on Databases
…then scroll down until you see Business Source Complete (Business Source Premier) in the alphabetical listing.
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask…
- by using the instant message feature (meebo) in the upper-right pane of this blog.
- by phone: 305-892-7043
- or stop by, we’re happy to help.
Leave a Comment » |
Journals, Magazines, Newspapers, Periodicals, databases | Tagged: Employment, Interviews, Resumes |
Permalink
Posted by Dean Vellenga, Librarian
April 29, 2009
This recent addition to our databases has over 100 e-book titles on topics that range from the arts to women’s studies. The collection can be browsed by title, subject or author. You can also search the collection by keyword (to search the full text within the books), title, author and other fields.
There’s a Quick Search feature at the top of every page in this resource, but most users will find that the Advanced Search offers more robust and accurate searching. The resource also has the American Heritage College Dictionary built into it for looking up definitions without leaving the collection.
Here are a few Greenwood titles that relate to some of the majors here at JWU:
BUSINESS
Building High-Performance People and Organizations
The Entrepreneur’s Guide to Successful Leadership
Global Business Etiquette Marketing in the 21st Century
Women in Business: The Changing Face of Leadership
CRIMINAL JUSTICE
Battleground: Criminal Justice
Crimes and Trials of the Century
The Crime Junkie’s Guide to Criminal Law
Eco-Terrorism: Radical Environmental and Animal Liberation Movements
Offender Profiling in the Courtroom: The Use and Abuse of Expert Witness Testimony
CULINARY
The American History Cookbook
American Indian Food
The Business of Wine: An Encyclopedia
Controversies in Food and Nutrition
Food Culture in France (there are several other “Food Culture” titles featuring other countries)
FASHION
Fashion and Costume in American Popular Culture: A Reference Guide
HOSPITALITY
The Business of Entertainment
The Business of Sports
Encyclopedia of Sports in America
Entertaining from Ancient Rome to the Super Bowl
To access the Greenwood Digital Collection, go to the Databases section of our site, and scroll down to “G” in the alphabetical listings:
http://library.jwu.edu/research/databases/az.htm
1 Comment |
General Library Information, databases | Tagged: Business, Criminal Justice, Culinary, eBook, Hospitality, research resources |
Permalink
Posted by Dean Vellenga, Librarian
April 24, 2009
In my last post about LexisNexis, I talked about using the General Search forms and the Power Search forms. You may also use the Content Specific Search forms which give you more control than the Easy search form and are simpler to use than the Power Search. The Content Specific Search is designed to search a particular type of information such as News or Business.
Let’s go through an example. When you enter the LexisNexis database, you will notice tabs at the top left of the screen. Click on any of the tabs to utilize the Content Specific Search forms. For instance, you need to search trade journals on the government regulation of the financial industry. Select the News tab and enter the words in the search box just as you would on the other search forms. You can either use the Natural Language setting, or Terms and Connectors setting. If you are comfortable using Boolean search strategies such as “and”, “or”, and “not”, use the Terms and Connectors setting as you would when using the Power Search form. In this case, our search phrase is “government regulation of the financial industry” and we are under the Natural Language setting. Next we will add index terms, which are listed by category, by expanding the options under “Add index terms”. You can select up to ten terms to add to your search. Lets add to our search “Banking and Finance” under the Industry category; “Business Forecasts” and “Business Operations” under the Subject or Section category; and “United States” under the Region category. Next, we will select a source for our search by choosing one from the Sources drop-down list. In this search, we will choose “Business News Publications” from the drop-down list. The last step is to choose a date range for our search. A good range for our topic is the “previous 3 months”. Finally, click on the search button located to the right of the search box to run our search.
This search yielded too many results, but we still have options to limit our results. Since we need trade journals for our sources, we can select “Industry Trade Press” under the groups on the left hand side of the screen. Now our results are all from industry trade journals and specifically address government regulation of the recent bailouts, executive compensation, legislation, etc.
I hope have you enjoyed this brief tutorial about using the Content Specific Search form in LexisNexis. Please feel free to leave any comments or questions.
Leave a Comment » |
General Library Information, Tutorial, databases |
Permalink
Posted by Chris Cannella, Library Assistant
April 20, 2009
“Going green” is becoming an increasingly hot topic in the wine industry. It appears that it also becoming more profitable for wine retail and this will certainly affect restauranteurs and consumers alike. According to a recent article in Cheers, retail opportunities for wine produced with sustainable practices is on the rise. Sarah Baisley, contributing editor of Cheers and the wine steward at Malibu Pavilions, states that “the public is beginning to believe that “healthier” can also taste good–the term “quality” is starting to be applied to wines produced by green methods.” This article provides evidence that there is increased market growth for these products. Read the article yourself! Follow the steps below to access the journal through the Culinary Arts Collection database:
- Go to http://library.jwu.edu
- Choose Databases
- Scroll down to Culinary Arts Collection
- Choose On Campus or Off Campus (enter name and barcode)
- Type the keywords: green wine into the search box
- Click on the article title: Green movement sprouts opportunity for wine & spirits.(Guide to Green Wines).
Read the rest of this entry »
Leave a Comment » |
Beverage Service Management, Culinary, databases | Tagged: Culinary, culinary arts collection, databases, eco-wine, green, green trends, sustainable, wine |
Permalink
Posted by Mia Lamm, Librarian
February 27, 2009
The library has just purchased a new book title: Greentailing and Other Revolutions in Retail. This book examines green trends in the retailing business. “Greentailing” focuses on the growing demand for sustainable, organic, and environmentally conscious products and business practices. For anyone in or planning on going into the retail business, this book is definitely worth checking out!
Greentailing and other revolutions in retail / Neil Z. Stern, Willard N. Ander HF5429 .S734 2008
To find articles on “green” retailing, you can search the database, GreenFiles, on the JWU Library website at: http://library.jwu.edu > Databases >> Scroll to GreenFiles
1 Comment |
Book Reviews, Business, databases | Tagged: books, databases, green trends, greenfiles, greentailing, New Books, retail, sustainable retail |
Permalink
Posted by Mia Lamm, Librarian